The St. Louis Cardinals were originally the St. Louis Browns of the American Association. After the failure of the American Association in 1891, the Browns joined the National League.

Frank and Stanley Robison bought the club in 1899 and changed the team's name to the Perfectos.

Their uniforms included red striped stockings and trim. One day, William McCale, a sports writer for the St. Louis Republic, over heard a female fan comment on how nice "that shade of cardinal" was. He used the name in his column and soon the fans were using it too.

The club's name was officially changed to the St. Louis Cardinals in 1900.

The Cardinals have played their home games in seven different stadiums: Union Park: 1892-1897

League Park: 1898

Robison Field: 1899-1920

Sportsman's Park: 1920-1952

Busch Stadium: 1953-1965

Busch Stadium II: 1966-2005

Busch Stadium III: 2006-present

Sign Up For My Free Newsletter!

Return From Cardinals To Baseball Team Names